How to get out of your “funk”

I’ve been trying to read more literature on positive thinking and mindset lately, and last night came across this blog by Dave Navarro called Rock Your Day, after reading his free ebook titled “How to free up 1000 hours a year by investing 1 hour a week“. It’s a quick read and I highly recommend it, but let me get to his latest post.

How to get out of your “funky” mood

When I say funky I don’t mean “groovy” or anything to do with house music, a funky mood is one you’re in that’s not quite you, that’s different to your normal character and one you’d prefer not to be in. Dave suggests an ACT FAST process that to be honest, seems a bit tedious, but as he says even if you just start acknowledging your funk, realise you can get out of it, and identify ways to do so – you’re already miles ahead of just being moody. So glance over the following points, and next time you’re acting “funky” follow their cues to get out of that mood. PMS is not an excuse either, ladies. 😉

Head over to the post on Rock Your Day and read Dave’s great example that works through the process. I’ll keep it brief, with some pointers here.

1. AGREE with yourself that you don’t want to be in this mood right now. This seems silly but is actually very important in acknowledging you’re stuck, and feeling shitty.

“I’m miserable at work.”

2. CLARIFY the mood you’d like to be in. You’re feeling miserable, but how would you like to feel?

I want to feel fulfilled and do work I am passionate about.

3. TAKE responsibility for taking immediate action. Only you can get yourself out of the mood you’re in, and into the mood you want. Make this statement to yourself, take charge of the situation.

I’m miserable at work and I’m ready to start doing more of what I’m passionate about, that will make me feel more fulfilled.

4. What do I need to FOCUS on to get me out of this mood/mindset? Now you get to think about or write down things you can focus on to put you in this positive or better mindset. As Dave writes – “When you ask yourself this question, you’re putting yourself on the spot – you’re saying, “Hey, if I wanted to feel *passionate about what I do (for this example), what would I need to focus on?”  You’re presupposing the answer is available to you rather than saying “How do I get out of this funk?”, which is an open ended question that invites an “I dunno …” response. Powerful stuff.

Here I think a tool like Evernote will come in handy, so when you get back into this mood, you can refer back to your answers on what to focus on to get out of it. Makes sense huh?

I will learn new skills (something I love) that will add value to myself and enable the business to grow.

5. What do I need to ACT on to feel the way I want to? Basically putting action to the previous areas of focus.

Spend 2 hours a day on learning social media marketing and SEO.”

6. What do I need to SURROUND myself with to feel the ay I want to? Your surrounding play a big part in your mindset, your actions, and surrounding yourself with objects, projects or people that are conducive to achieving your desired mood will lead to far greater results.

I’ll subscribe to SEO newsletters and sites that offer social marketing resources. I’ll find relevant literature and projects that will practice my skills and grow my confidence.

7. Lastly, What do I need to TELL myself to feel the way I want to?

Create your statement and read over it over and over again, whipping your mind out of that funk and into another realm of possibilities and opportunity. Believe it when you read it, trust your ability to achieve this…

I’m miserable at work and I’m ready to start doing more of what I’m passionate about, that will make me feel more fulfilled. I will learn new skills (something I love) that will add value to myself and enable the business to grow.

I’ll spend 2 hours a day on learning social media marketing and SEO by subscribing to industry newsletters and sites that offer social marketing resources. I’ll find relevant literature and projects that will practice my skills and grow my confidence.

I’ve shared here a feeling in my own life which has been quite personal for me for some time now. I’ve taken steps in the right direction, and I’m feeling positive, so I felt comfortable to share it here. “Miserable” is maybe quite a harsh description, but sometimes, I have felt that way, and I really needed to take action.

Apply this in your own life, and leave a comment if you wish either here or on the original post by Dave Navarro. If the whole process seems like too much work, either see it as set defined steps you can take to get out of your funk, or at least start thinking about your mood, what you can focus on to get out and already you’ll make effort in the right direction.

~ Mark

Images sourced from http://www.sxc.hu

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

